CLICK HERE FOR FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES, LINK BUTTONS AND MORE! »

In My Mailbox #6



In My Mailbox (IMM) is a weekly feature organised by The Story Siren. IMM is a post where you can show which books entered your house and it also gives you a chance to say thank you to the people that kindly sent them. To find out more about how you can join in, click here.


I've had a terrific week as far as NetGalley goes. I have fallen into a state of unconditional love with this site. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Here's my haul from them.


The Way We Fall, by Megan Crewe


Format: Net Galley eBook
Pages: 304
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Expected Hardcover Release Date: January 12th 2012 


Synopsis
Taken from Goodreads



It starts with an itch you just can't shake. Then comes a fever and a tickle in your throat. A few days later, you'll be blabbing your secrets and chatting with strangers like they’re old friends. Three more, and the paranoid hallucinations kick in.

And then you're dead.

When sixteen-year-old Kaelyn lets her best friend leave for school without saying goodbye, she never dreams that she might not see him again.  But then a strange virus begins to sweep through her small island community, infecting young and old alike.  As the dead pile up, the government quarantines the island: no one can leave, and no one can come back.

Those still healthy must fight for the island’s dwindling supplies, or lose all chance of survival. As everything familiar comes crashing down, Kaelyn joins forces with a former rival and discovers a new love in the midst of heartbreak. When the virus starts to rob her of friends and family, she clings to the belief that there must be a way to save the people she holds dearest.

Because how will she go on if there isn't?

Megan Crewe crafts a powerful and gripping exploration of self-preservation, first love, and hope. Poignant and dizzying, this heart-wrenching story of one girl’s bravery and unbeatable spirit will leave readers fervently awaiting the next book in this standout new series.

The Beginning of After, by Jennifer Castle

Format: NetGalley eBook
Pages: 432
Expected Hardcover Release Date: September 6th 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen

Synopsis
Taken from Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old Laurel's world changes instantly when her parents and brother are killed in a terrible car accident. Behind the wheel is the father of her bad-boy neighbor, David Kaufman, whose mother is also killed. In the aftermath of the tragedy, Laurel navigates a new reality in which she and her best friend grow apart, boys may or may not be approaching her out of pity, overpowering memories lurk everywhere, and Mr. Kaufman is comatose but still very much alive. Through it all, there is David, who swoops in and out of Laurel's life and to whom she finds herself attracted against her better judgment. She will forever be connected to him by their mutual loss, a connection that will change them both in unexpected ways.

Fans of emotionally true and heartfelt stories, such as Sarah Dessen's THE TRUTH ABOUT FOREVER and IF I STAY by Gayle Forman, will fall in love with Jennifer Castle’s incandescent debut novel...a heart wrenching, surprisingly witty testament to how drastically life can change in the span of a single moment.




Cold Kiss, by Amy Garvey

Format: NetGalley eBook
Pages: 336 
Expected Hardcover Release Date: September 20th 2011 
Publiser: HarperTeen

Synopsis
Taken from Goodreads

“It seemed so right. Danny was mine, I was his, and that wasn’t going to work if he was dead. So I would make him not dead, not anymore. I didn’t think any further than what it would feel like to kiss him again, to wrap my arms around him and bury my head against his shoulder.
That was my first mistake. It also turned out to be the biggest.”

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Spellbound, by Cara Lynn Shultz

Format: NetGalley eBook
Pages: 384 
Released: June 28th 2011
Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Synopsis
Taken from Goodreads

Life hasn't been easy on sixteen-year-old Emma Connor, so a new start in New York may be just the change she needs. But the posh Upper East Side prep school she has to attend? Not so much. Friendly faces are few and far between, except for one that she's irresistibly drawn to—Brendan Salinger, the guy with the rock-star good looks and the richest kid in school, who might just be her very own white knight.
But even when Brendan inexplicably turns cold, Emma can't stop staring. Ever since she laid eyes on him, strange things have been happening. Streetlamps go out wherever she walks, and Emma's been having the oddest dreams: visions of herself in past lives—visions that warn her to stay away from Brendan. Or else.

Black, White, Other, by Joan Steinau Lester

Format: NetGalley eBook
Pages: 208 
Expected Hardcover Release Date: August 16th 2011 
Publisher: Zondervan

Synopsis
Taken from Goodreads

Identity Crisis. As a biracial teen, Nina is accustomed to a life of varied hues---mocha-colored skin, ringed brown hair streaked with red, a darker brother, a black father, a white mother. When her parents decide to divorce, the rainbow of Nina's existence is reduced to a much starker reality. Shifting definitions and relationships are playing out all around her, and new boxes and lines seem to be getting drawn every day. Between the fractures within her family and the racial tensions splintering her hometown, Nina feels caught in perpetual battle. Feeling stranded in the nowhere land between racial boundaries, and struggling for personal independence and identity, Nina turns to the story of her great-great-grandmother's escape from slavery. Is there direction in the tale of her ancestor? Can Nina build her own compass when landmarks from her childhood stop guiding the way?

Swag won from Zoe Marriott, author of Shadows on the Moon.



Oooo look at all of the pretty I won from the lovely Zoe Marriott! Check out her blog, The Zoe-Trope. I do love free stuff! 

So that's my mailbox this week! I really must get my GCSE Controlled Assessment marking out of the way so that I can get back to my reading! Roll on the Summer Holidays!

So what was in your mailbox this week?

Lx

12 comments:

  1. Great books! I a, currently reading Spellbound and to be honest, Im not loving it but I really hope its better for you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. The Way We Fall sounds very intense. I hope it is. Can't wait to read your review :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. Netgalley IS amazing. I wasn't a huge fan of spellbound, but hopefully you'll have better luck with it

    The Cait Files

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow, there is some great stuff on netgalley right now. I've seen Cold Kiss everywhere, I want it! Lol. I've heard good things about The Beginning of After. I hope you enjoy it.

    Check out my IMM for this week--> http://unautrehistoire.blogspot.com/2011/07/in-my-mailbox-3.html

    Happy Reading!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow, you have a nice stack of books this week in your mailbox. I loved Spellbound, I hope you like it too.
    Happy Reading,
    Book Sniffers Anonymous

    ReplyDelete
  6. awesome IMM, spellbound is fantastic I hope you enjoy it!

    Love Fantasy's Mailbox

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've been looking forward to reading Spellbound :)

    Here's mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/07/in-my-mailbox.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. Great set! I especially want to read The Beginning of After and Spellbound.
    My IMM

    ReplyDelete
  9. So jealous of The Way We Fall!! Awesome IMM!!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Spellbound! I loved it! So freaking good. And agh, jealous! Hyperion still hasn't gotten to my netgalley requests, hah! Hope you enjoy them all :)

    Here's what books I received in my mailbox this week :)

    Here's what books I received in my mailbox this week :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. A great haul! Awesome stuff... I can't wait to read Spellbound :)
    Check out what's In My Mailbox

    Mia @ Gripped into Books

    ReplyDelete
  12. Netgalley is rather amazing at the moment! Gutted l don't have time to read them =(
    Need to get the PB of some of these =)
    I have heard Cold Kiss is really good.

    ReplyDelete

I am an attention seeker and, as such, I HEART comments! Let me know what you are thinking and it will put a smile on my face!